Monday, July 7, 2008

Frank O'Connor Prize shortens its shortlist too

Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa Lahiri is the outright winner of the prestigious Frank O'Connor International Short Story Award 2008 (Prize: €35,000) The jury has without precedent dispensed with a shortlist to announce Lahiri the winner.

Director of the Award, Patrick Cotter, speaking yesterday said: “With a unanimous winner at this early stage we decided it would be a sham to compose a shortlist and put five other writers through unnecessary stress and suspense.

Not only were the jury unanimous in their choice of Lahiri’s Unaccustomed Earth as the winner, they were unanimous in their belief that so outstanding was Lahiri’s achievement in this book that no other title was a serious contender.” More about Lahiri and the prize here.

Thrilling to read of such brilliance.

No comments: